Home » politics » The Day I Became a Protester

The Day I Became a Protester

protest_9687ewsIt’s amazing the Women’s March on Washington ever actually took place.  From early on there were squabbles.  Different groups of women felt slighted.  Some jumped on this lack of cohesiveness and mocked it.  I have to admit, I had to remove myself from some Facebook groups because of the downright meanness of many interactions. However, before judging women on their inability to band together, think about how that would go if you asked every man in the country to get along simply because they all have a Y-chromosome:  black, white, Christian, Muslim, rich, poor, gay, straight.

protest_9656ewsSeems pretty laughable.  Yet, that’s what these women were attempting to do–unite a highly diverse group joined only by gender and their desire to voice their protests against a Donald Trump presidency.  And they did it.  And they did it peacefully with record-breaking numbers!  Am I the only one to find it ironic that the estimated total number of protesters is pretty much the same amount by which Trump lost the popular vote?

protest_9649ewsI agonized over not being able to attend the march here in Iowa, but I really knew that if I attempted to go by myself, I’d get lost and drive in circles for possibly days.  And I would have had to go by myself.  I have felt completely isolated in my very, very red state since well before the election.  There are a couple of co-workers that I can discuss politics with, but I couldn’t throw myself at them, begging to take me to the march too.  I decided to settle for attending the legislative breakfast sponsored by my union at work.  I got to meet our long time representative, Mark Smith, and our newly-elected senator, Jeff Edler, to discuss issues revolving around education.

protest_9892ewsA chance comment by the union president at the end of the meeting left me gushing about how jealous I was that she was headed to the march.  She said to join them, and in an uncharacteristically bold move, I grabbed my camera from the car and went with her and another teacher.  I cannot thank them enough for letting me tag along and be a part of this historic moment because I believe strongly that it is not just a right, but a duty, to peacefully protest when the government becomes dangerous to its citizens.

One of the first observations I made as we drove towards the capitol building was the diversity of the group.  Granted, it was Iowa diverse, but there were many men, different ages, and different groups represented.

protest_9893ews

protest_9616ews

protest_9604ewsprotest_9818ewsAs we drove past (sorry for bad photo quality, but some photos were taken through the window of a moving vehicle), I couldn’t even keep up with all the different protest signs–women, Planned Parenthood, Black Lives Matter, education, and others.  It became quickly apparent to me that this was not a women’s march.  This was not about being a sore loser and wishing Hillary Clinton was president.  This was a march to make sure Donald Trump and Republicans got the message that they do not have a mandate to run the country on a platform of hate and fear with complete disregard for the benefit of all people.

protest_9626ews

The afternoon’s rally had to be moved outside to accommodate the large numbers of people.  As I listened to the speakers, I got to hear the perspective of the LGBTQ community, NOW, Native Americans, Disabled Americans, Muslim immigrants, and Refugees.  Every group that spoke was respectful of others.  The crowd applauded and supported each group with their concerns of how a Trump presidency put them at risk for their civil liberties and even their lives.

protest_9683ews

protest_9789ews

protest_9866ews

protest_9744e1wsWhile I’ve heard from conservatives that they didn’t get the march and we should just give Trump a chance, I will not wait until it is too late.  This is certainly the time to let our elected officials know that we do not support the destruction of the Affordable Care Act (Obamacare), defunding Planned Parenthood, and gutting public education.  We have to let them know we support the Paris Agreement on Climate Change to reduce global warming, science-based decision making, and a strong free press.  Those of us who protest are fighting for the rights of all Americans, even those who helped put Trump in the White House and will suffer from the policies he institutes and the laws he repeals.

protest_9862ews protest_9812ews

protest_9896ewsThis march helped to restore faith in my great state.  Between speakers, one of the organizers took a moment to address the crowd, sharing that she was serving as the lost and found.  It made me extremely proud to be a part of a movement of 26,000 people that would turn in keys and driver’s licenses and credit cards, so that they could be returned to their owners.  It gives me hope.  I know we will continue to be an extremely diverse group united to protect our great country from this kleptocracy.

You can see all the photos I took at the Des Moines Women’s March HERE.

6 thoughts on “The Day I Became a Protester

  1. I love this!!!! I’m SOOO glad you got to go. That isolated feeling is just horrible. I feel that this is the beginning… in dark ways and bright. We have to keep our voices loud and constant. Thank you so much for sharing this post!! xo

  2. Teresa, I am sooo glad that you went (there’s a song like this, religious subject). WE need to be heard, WE are the MAJORITY. But we don’t rule, too bad, but we will be heard. I’m like you, living in a very, very red state. But I don’t have a job to lose although we here are a house divided. (I rant more than she does.)
    And yes, women, minorities, children (especially needing medical assistance), and other hurting groups are at the worst disadvantage. Every time on TV that I see mr trump (I will not capitalize his name) with his cabinet of older white men in dark suits I am reinforced in feeling that we are hurting, not being represented.
    You are right also, he is tearing down years and years of progress almost as fast as ISIS was/is ?? tearing down the ancient works of art. And with their idiotic vengeance. Keystone, DAPL, his wall? In one day.
    (BTW, my writer missed the march, be sure to read his/my comment–almost in draft condition–also.)
    Thank you, stay safe.
    ..

  3. An awesome write. Thanks for taking us along with you to see it through your eyes. I especially like the point you make that even trump’s supporters will suffer – faster than they know it – at the dismantling of the system that he is engaged in.

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

