Home » d'Verse Poets » Hope for a Legacy

Hope for a Legacy

I am combining a couple of prompts.  At d’Verse Poets, the challenge is to write a quadrille (44 word poem) using the word drizzle.  At Real Toads, Margaret has challenged us to create a poem from a list of words that we generated from a photo.  Then use a thesaurus to find more interesting words.

Wistful regret at the loss of our paladin;
the grassland guardian lies buried
beneath a cadaverous moon, as
penitence drizzles down my cheek.
Eventide brings sanguine possibilities–
seedtime comfort grows within the womb.
The genesis of a cria, clemency
arrives, a newborn living legacy.

Llenny, my guard llama that I lost in February

Maybeline (and my other lady llama, Odie) might be carrying Llenny’s crias.

26 thoughts on “Hope for a Legacy

  1. cadaverous moon, eventide, lovely words AND I love her name “Maybeline” or llama – they DO have lovely eyelashes. What beautiful animals – do you sell their wool? I am a knitter 🙂 What a lovely pasture they have!

  2. Hi Teresa, this was nice writing. I hope you can remember all those new words. Maybe they weren’t all new to you. I am sorry to hear about Llemmy. I remember him but missed out when he died.
    ..

  3. Great use of a litany of words – all surging with new birth, new growth, seasonal splendor, and depth of feeling. Very fine.

  4. I notice you spelled his name “Llenny” rather than “Lenny” perhaps to match the double L’s in llama? Nice memorial to Llenny and I hope his legacy is passed on.

  5. You rose to the challenges…wow! Such an interesting story about your llamas and one that may continue. A most unique use of the prompt word with “penitence drizzles down my cheek”. Thanks for sharing the photos as well. Incredible beasts they are!

I love to hear from you, so please leave a comment. If you are having problems leaving a comment Wordpress has made changes to require you to log into your Wordpress or Gravatar account associated with the e-mail address. You can try a different e-mail address, or I have enabled people to leave a comment without an e-mail address. Sorry for any inconvenience because I love hearing from you and want to make it as easy as possible for you to communicate with me.

